Reading OSHO

“Reaction is of the mind; response is of the no-mind.”

Osho

I have always told myself that I need to meditate more, because I often feel overwhelmed with life and the responsibilities I have. Sometimes it is easier to distract myself when I am stressed out, rather than actually trying to relax and meditate. Meditation was always something I believed would never work for me because sometimes I can never stop thinking, questioning or worrying about one thing or another. I find Osho’s ideas about intelligence, mind and no-mind to be very interesting.

At first I was skeptical but near the beginning of his chapter on Mind and No-Mind, he says that information is beautiful, a “beautiful means, but it is not an end.” He says that knowing lot of information is limited, that it isn’t what makes intelligence. Osho claims that someone who meditates is more intelligent than anybody else.

I was talking to a friend recently about how difficult it is sometimes to get out of a negative mindset – often I would find myself angry not because of something someone said or did to me but because I was thinking of something from my past or just something that annoyed me. My friend told me that having too much on your mind just makes you less able to learn and enjoy life. That by thinking about negative things is one thing, to dwell on them is to feed your bad thoughts until they affect your mood. This can be connected to Osho’s claim that thinking is just a response taken from the information you have collected over the years, and isn’t real understanding. I also think this may be an example of Osho’s idea that extreme introversion is just as harmful as extreme extroversion. He believes that in order to be a “whole” person, one needs to have a balance of introversion and extroversion. When I have negative thoughts, that’s one thing. Dwelling on them to the point where I react emotionally is another, because I do not have an understanding. I can become introverted enough to block out an important part of myself.

Osho also says that a human should know science as much as they should know meditation. He calls this being “bilingual.” He makes a distinction between thinking and understanding, saying that thinking can’t give you the correct answer because you only think about what you already know. When you understand something, it is new. He calls the mind a “biocomputer.” As Osho says, the Western world has reduced people to robots who cannot look inside themselves. Computers don’t have the ability of introspection, but people certainly can look inside themselves. I think using the word “biocomputer” is an interesting compromise to describe a mind that does not do any understanding. For many people, they are living, but they are not using their full potential. They are just using their biocomputer.

I think Osho’s writings can have an important application to the idea that people need to stop dividing themselves and to stop living in chaos – rather than thinking, they should be understanding. They should be engaging the no-mind, not the mind, because the mind is merely a tool for remembering and recycling information. Looking inside ourselves, and staying connected to the outside world, would create a natural balance.

-Mike T Wisniewski

Leave a Reply

